Apply now! 13th San Agustin Writers Workshop

Via Email from
Fray Luis de Leon Creative Writing Institute
c/o Graduate School
University of San Agustin
General Luna Street
Iloilo City, Philippines 5000


13th San Agustin Writers Workshop set

THE Fray Luis de Leon Creative Writing Institute of the University of San Agustin (USA) is now accepting applications for writing fellowships to the 13th San Agustin Writers Workshop which will be held on May 11-13, 2015 at the USA President’s Conference Room, Iloilo City.

Ten fellowships are open to creative writers in and from Western Visayas who are willing to learn more about the craft of writing from panelists led by award-winning writers and teachers Leoncio P. Deriada, Isidoro M. Cruz, Alice Tan Gonzales, and Erwin Sustento. The workshop director is the award-winning writer John Iremil E. Teodoro.

Interested applicants must submit the following: (a) application letter stating that the literary writings submitted are the original works of the applicant ; (b) letter of recommendation from any faculty member of their school or any established writer in the region; (c) bio-data with one 2” x 2” colored picture, and contact details (landline/cellphone/e-mail address); (d) for minors, a letter of consent from parent/ guardian; and (e) printout of five poems, or two short stories, or two one-act plays, in Aklanon, Hiligaynon, Kinaray-a, Filipino, or English, in 8 ½” x 11” bond paper, in Arial or Times New Roman, double-spaced; and (f) e-mail attachment of the same creative works, sent to the workshop director at , cc:

The theme of this year’s manuscripts will be Panay dark mythological creatures like the aswang, maranhig, tayhu, and many other beings in West Visayan lore, in celebration of the 13th year of existence of the workshop.

The fellowships cover free board and lodging in Iloilo City during the workshop, plus a modest transportation allowance for fellows who are based in Western Visayas. Fellows from other regions are advised to look for their own travel funding.

The deadline for applications is on April 6, 2015. The names of the ten fellows will be announced on April 15, 2015. They will be informed by e-mail by the workshop director.

Please send complete applications in a brown envelope to:
Dr. Isidoro M. Cruz, Dean, Graduate School, University of San Agustin, General Luna Street, Iloilo City 5000.

For more information, please contact Ms. Tonya Perales (Graduate School secretary) at telephone number (033-3374841 local 241) or Dr. Cruz at local 164.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.